Recipes From Down Under

Whats for dinner?

Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi June 11, 2010

Filed under: Appetizers,Beef,Main Dish — Aussies Kitchen @ 7:30 PM
Tags: , , , ,

So since I am Australian I decided to add this true Australian dish. Sausage rolls and meat pies in Australia are a staple. When I first moved over to the US I was very disappointed that you could not find these little fellows here. Then when I took Jared to Australia he fell in love with sausage rolls. So thats when I started to experiment with things and try to re create these little beauties. This is the closest I have been able to get the recipe to the real Australian sausage rolls. When I make these I really just eye ball all my spices and bread crumbs. So I have estimated the following ingredients to what I think they may be. In true Australian fashion enjoy with lots of ketchup! Also try hot sauce or the Asian sweet chili sauce. Hope you enjoy them.

Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi!!

Sausage Rolls:

Ingredients:

  • 1 package puff pastry
  • 1/2lb ground beef
  • 1/2lb ground pork sausage (breakfast sausage)
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 small white onion, diced finely
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1-2 cups Italian bread crumbs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Thaw puff pastry sheets out on counter.

In a large bowl combine all ingredients until well mixed.  You want a slightly mushy consistency.

Cut each sheet of pasty into 6 rectangles. In each rectangle add spoonfuls of meat mixture in the middle. Fold pastry over meat and press seam closed.

Place pastries on a baking sheet. Score the top of each pastry with 3 slices. Make sure you don’t skip this step otherwise you will end up with the huge mess (Trust me!)

Bake for about 20-30 minutes or until pastries are golden brown.


 

5 Responses to “Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi”

  1. Stephenie Says:

    you would have ketsup in that picture!

  2. Stephenie Says:

    OMG, I make these too!!! They are sooooo delish and easy!

  3. Teegs Says:

    Made these today Chlobee, they were great. We didn’t have breadcrumbs tho but they still worked out excellent. Only thing was, i didn’t know what this KETCHUP u speak of is, so instead we used SAUCE. (Dead Horse)
    Keep the recipes coming pretty lady!

  4. Sue Says:

    wow those look and sound great! Me and my husband visit Australia about 2 years ago and I have not had one since then. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

