Recipes From Down Under

Whats for dinner?

I’m Back! March 7, 2011

Filed under: Cake,Dessert — Aussies Kitchen @ 2:52 PM
Tags: , , , , , ,

So I have kind of disappeared the last few months with my cooking. Not sure why, I just couldn’t be bothered with making anything wonderful. But, today I caught the cooking bug back. It was great to be back in my kitchen and making yummy things. So I hope you all enjoy!

I made a few substitutions with this cake. First of all mine was only two layers and not three. Didn’t really see the point in making a 3 layer cake and plus I only have 2 round pans, so there you go.  Secondly we all know Ms. Paula Deen and her 100 pound  butter fetish. So in my icing I only used about 1/4-1/3 of a stick of butter and cut the confectioners sugar down by half. The icing came out great and it’s not to sweet or over powering. And last but not least I don’t like using chopped pecans so I always use pecan chips. I like the smaller pieces and I think they work out better.

Banana Cream Cake:

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 large ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Frosting:

  • 1 (8oz) package cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 pound confectioners sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease and prepare 3 (9 inch) round cake pans. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl combine, flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Add the eggs and oil and stir until incorporated. Stir in the bananas, pecans and vanilla. Divide the batter among the pans. Bake in preheated oven for 23-28 minutes, or until wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool the cakes in the pans for about 10 minutes and then turn out onto a rack and cool before frosting.

For the frosting blend together the cream cheese and butter. Gradually add the confectioners sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Beat in the vanilla. Either stir the pecans in or sprinkle them over the cake. Fill and frost the cake when cool.

Adapted from Paula Deen.

 

One Response to “I’m Back!”

  1. Mmm, cream cheese frosting and banana cake were meant for each other. This looks scrumptious.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.